Latest news
Most popular
Main menu
News
History
Structure
Personalia
Events
Manuscripts
Publications
IOM Journals
PhD Program
Videos (rus)
Buy books (rus)
Library (rus)
IOM (rus)
What's most interesting for you?

Structure of the IOM — The Archives of the Orientalists Print E-mail

— The Archives of the Orientalists —

The Archives of the Orientalists at the Institute of Oriental Manuscripts maintains a rich collection of papers left by former generations of Russian scholars who studied every possible Orientalist discipline. Many unique papers on history, culture, languages of hundreds of peoples are arranged into one hundred and fifty sets of records. The Archive contains a large number of unpublished monographs (both drafts and completed works), short academic papers, notes, excerpts, synopses, lists, vocabularies, maps, theses, accounts of conferences and sessions of academic societies. It also includes a many official documents such as protocol statements, prescripts and decisions. Epistolary heritage and the collection of photos are also sufficiently extensive.

It is generally accepted that the Archives of the Orientalists was established in 1818 with the foundation of the Asiatic Museum of the Russian Academy of Sciences. By that time, Russia already boasted a collection of archival papers connected the study of Eastern cultures. Among the first items given to the Archive of Oriental Studies were documents from the Konferenz Archive and the Academy’s Library, manuscripts belonging to G.J. Kehr, a well-known Turkologist, Prof. T.S. Beyer, a researcher into Greek and Roman antiquities, and D.K. Kantemir, a diplomat who wrote a history of the Ottoman Empire.

In addition, Ch.M. Frähn, the first director of the Asiatic Museum, scrutinised papers of the so-called “physical” expeditions sent by the Academy to Asia, and selected a number of interesting documents. This replenished the Archive with a number of accounts by D.G. Messerschmidt, G.F. Miller, P.P. Pallas and I.E. Fisher, who explored Siberia. One hundred years later, all the documents that once served as the basis of the Archive of the Asiatic Museum were passed to the Archive of the Academy of Sciences.

The Archives of the Orientalists acquired new materials in different ways. They were partly purchased. For example, P.L. Schilling von Kanstadt, a passionate collector of Oriental manuscripts, bought letters by Catholic missionaries to China, such as Perreira, Gobil, Parrenine, from a Berlin antiquary; papers of I. Jerig were purchased at the auction organised by heirs of the traveller, Sinologist and Manchurist G.J. Klaproth. D.K. Kantemir’s manuscripts made the long journey from Saint Petersburg, through Constantinople and London, to Paris and then returned to Russia again to be passed to the Asiatic Museum. Some other materials were granted.

The archival collection was later added to with papers belonging to the old Orientalists who had been affiliated with the then Asiatic Museum (later the Institute of Oriental Studies and then the Institute of Oriental Manuscripts) and sometimes the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Saint-Petersburg/Leningrad University. First of all, the personal collections of Ch. Frähn and B. Dorn were acquired, then those of the Turkologist I.N. Berezin, the historian and numismatist W.G. Tisengausen and the Arabist W. Rosen. Many materials were donated by the Russian Committee for the Exploration of Central and Eastern Asia. The Committee was supported by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, hence its strong material background and capacity to organise a number of expeditions to Turkestan, Siberia, the Far East, Central Asia and the Near East, which allowed valuable data to be gathered on local politics and history, as well as unique archaeological, ethnographic and linguistic data. Collections acquired from the expeditions were so extensive that a special Inventory of Tributes from the Russian Committee was produced. This covered the items acquired from T. Zhamtsarano, B. Baradiyn, B.J. Vladimirtsov, N. Ochirov, A.V. Burdukov —documents and artefacts that proved highly significant for the study of various Turkic and Mongolian peoples. In recent decades, the Archive has been further extended with the personal collections of many bright scholars such as the Mongolists P.V. Pogorelsky, B.I. Pankratov, N.P. Shastina, A.V. Burdukov, the Indologists V.S. Vorobyov-Desyatovsky and A.E. Snesarev, the Iranist A.A. Starikov, the historian of Arab countries A.F. Iskanderov and many others.

Maintaining the Archives has always proven a difficult undertaking. It required both the numbering and brief description of all items. K.G. Zalemann was the first to scrutinise and catalogue the acquired archives.

Until 1918, the collections kept at the Asiatic Museum were divided into the following five sections: 1. the Academic library; 2. Oriental manuscripts and xylographs; 3. handwritten (and mostly unpublished) papers, notes, plans, etc. in European languages; 4. coins and medals; 5. antiquities, talismans, seals and other curiosities and rarities. In 1918, the third section was reorganisd into the so-called Eastern (or Asiatic) Archives. The Archives was revised with the appointment of S.F. Oldenburg as Head of the Asiatic Museum. Leading scholars such as V.M. Alexeev, V.V. Bartold, I.J. Krachkovsky were asked to take part in the revision. S.F. Oldenburg personally contributed much to the processing and systematisation of the archives. The work was even more difficult since numerous newly acquired items (20,000 from 1917-1927) also had to be checked. Sometimes entire collections had been maintained under the same number, so scholars had to be extremely careful. At that time, the Archives was divided into five major sections: the old collection (items from 1640-1840), new collection (1840-1930), collection of special documents (1850-1912), unprocessed collection (1880-1910), archives of academic activities. During 1933-1937, the Asiatic Archives was maintained as part of the Department of Manuscripts. However, in 1937 it was reorganised as an independent department of the Institute of Oriental Studies. In the same year it was given its current name — the Archive of Oriental Studies.

In 1937, five scholars from the Institute of Russian Literature, headed by L.B. Modzalevsky, moved to the Institute of Oriental Studies and began processing the Archive of Oriental Studies. They divided it into 52 personal files and 3 groups of thematic collections. They organised inventories to fix data on all new items, compiled descriptions of personal funds and thematic groups, developed necessary application forms, etc. They planned to complete the work by 1943, but this was made impossible by the Second World War. The work was started again in 1956. Five fellows were hired to the Archive, and the Institute’s authorities established the special Archives Council. Moreover, The Bulletin of the Archives of the Orientalists was issued periodically. The fellows began to compile the so-called guides through the funds of the Archives of the Orientalists .

At the moment, the Archives of the Orientalists contains more than 100 personal funds. During 1949-1953, all personal collections of academicians and corresponding members of the Academy of Sciences such as those of I.J. Schmidt, V.V. Bartold, T.I. Stcherbatsky, V.V. Struwe, B.J. Vladimirtsov, A.N. Samoilovich, V.R. Rosen, V.V. Radlov and I.A. Orbeli were passed to the Leningrad Branch of the Archives of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR (now the St Petersburg Branch of the Archives of the Russian Academy of Sciences). Papers connected with their academic activities at the Institute were left behind. Among the most valuable items kept at the Archives of the Orientalists are 150 dictionaries (in 2, 3 or 4 languages), from rough drafts to completed works. The Archives also contains a number of thematic collections: China, Manchuria, Mongolia and Tibet, Japan and Korea, India and Indonesia, Iran and Afghanistan, Turkey, Arab countries, Polyglotta (consisting of both bilingual texts and glossaries), Palestine, Africa, Buryatia and Kalmykia, Peoples of Caucasus and Transcaucasia, Peoples of Siberia, Turkic Peoples, Finno-Ugric peoples, Peoples of Central Asia, the Kazakhs, Collections of governmental institutions, Collection of the Russian Palestinian Society, Archives of the Orthodox Mission in Peking, Publishing Portfolio, Collection of dissertations, Photo Archive. Since the beginning of the 1960s, the following fellows have been involved: L.I. Chuguevsky, N.D. Putintseva, T.P. Goreglyad, K.A. Boiko, D.E. Bertels, A.M. Kulikova, T.A. Patrusheva, M.N. Kulis, O.S. Grigoryeva, K.V. Dubkov, V.S. Fedorov, T.E. Sivolap, M.I. Isinalieva.

More than 500 papers have been published on the Archives of the Orientalists . The most important ones were published by A.M. Kulikova, I.I. Iorish, D.E. Bertels, G.M. Bongard-Levin, E.N. Tyomkin, M.P. Volkova, L.V. Dmitrieva, L.L. Gromkovskaya, A.N. Kononov, S.A. Kozin, I.J. Krachkovsky, I.V. Kulganek, B.V. Lunin, L.N. Menshikov, N.D. Putintseva, P.E. Skachkov, N.N. Tumanovich, L.I. Chuguevsky, A.N. Khokhlov, R.Sh. Sharafutdinova, N.P. Shastina.

A lot of archival papers have yet to be explored.

Dr L.I. Chuguevsky (†), N.D. Putintseva, Dr I.V. Kulganek

(Translated by A.Zorin; proofread by J.Young)


IOM's page contains
Publications463
Monographs226
Papers236
b_andreev_co_1957.jpg


Programming© N.Shchupak; Design© M.Romanov

 Российская академия наук Yandex Money Counter
beacon typebeacon type

Главное меню
Новости
История
Структура
Personalia
Научная жизнь
Рукописи
Публикации
Лекторий
Периодика
Архивы
Экскурсии
Продажа книг
Спонсорам
Аспирантура
Библиотека
ИВР в СМИ
IOM (eng)
Структура ИВР РАН — Архив востоковедов Версия для печати Отправить на E-mail

Архив востоковедов ИВР РАН

Архив востоковедов ИВР РАН представляет собой богатейшее собрание рукописного наследия отечественных ученых по всем направлениям востоковедной науки. В нем выделено около ста пятидесяти фондов, в которых представлены уникальные материалы, связанные с изучением истории, культуры, языка сотен народов. В АВ есть неопубликованные монографии, материалы к ним, научные статьи, записи, выписки, конспекты, реестры, словари, карты, диссертации, материалы конференций и заседаний научных обществ. В Архиве отложилось большое количество официальных документов: протоколов, постановлений, решений. Богато представлено эпистолярное наследие, имеется большой фотоархив.

Годом создания Архива востоковедов принято считать 1818, когда был основан Азиатский музей Российской академии наук. К этому времени был накоплен определенный архивный материал по Востоку. Первые поступления составили документы Конференц-Архива, Библиотеки Российской Академии наук, рукописное наследие тюрколога Г.Я.Кера, профессора греческих и римских древностей Т.З.Байера и Д.К.Кантемира, дипломата, автора истории Оттоманской империи.

Х.Д.Френ, первый директор Азиатского музея, внимательно ознакомившись с материалами «физических» экспедиций, направляемых РАН в Азию, отобрал ряд интересных документов. Так в Архив поступили материалы путешествий по Сибири Д.Г.Мессершмидта, Г.Ф.Миллера, П.П.Палласа, И.Э.Фишера. Спустя сто лет эти документы, составившиеся основу Архива Азиатского музея, были переданы в Архив АН.

Материалы поступали в Архив востоковедов различными путями. Часть их покупалась. Письма миссионеров в Китае (Перейры, Гобиля, Парренина) П.Л.Шиллинг фон Канштадт, страстный собиратель восточных рукописей, купил в Берлине у букиниста, материалы И.Иерига были приобретены на аукционе, устроенном наследниками путешественника, китаиста и маньчжуриста Г.-Ю.Клапрота. Рукописи Д.К.Кантемира проделали путь из Санкт-Петербурга в Константинополь, Лондон, Париж и вернулись, в конце концов, обратно в Россию, в Азиатский музей. Были и безвозмездные дарения.

В дальнейшем коллекции формировались из рукописного наследия ушедших из жизни востоковедов, которые имели отношение к Азиатскому музею (позже – Институту востоковедения), а также Коллегии иностранных дел, Санкт-Петербургскому (Петроградскому, Ленинградскому) университету. Первыми поступили архивы Х.Д.Френа и Б.А.Дорна, затем тюрколога И.Н.Березина, историка и нумизмата В.Г.Тизенгаузена, арабиста В.Р.Розена. Много материалов было передано из Русского комитета для исследований Средней и Восточной Азии (РКСА). Комитет финансировался Министерством иностранных дел, имел хорошую материальную базу, организовал ряд экспедиций по Туркестану, Сибири, Дальнему Востоку, Центральной Азии, Ближнему Востоку, в результате которых были собраны ценные сведения политического и исторического характера, а также получен уникальный археологический, этнографический и лингвистический материал. Экспедиции поставляли такое множество материала, что была заведена особая «Книга для записей пожертвований от Русского Комитета». В нее были записаны поступления от Ц.Жамцрано, Б.Барадийна, Б.Я. Владимирцова, Н.Очирова, А.В.Бурдукова, обогатившие архив обширными данными по изучению тюркских и монгольских народов. За последние десятилетия в Архив поступили материалы монголоведов П.В.Погорельского, Б.И.Панкратова, Н.П.Шастиной, А.В. Бурдукова, индологов В.С.Воробьева-Десятовского, А.Е.Снесарева, ираниста А.А.Старикова, арабиста-историка А.Ф.Искандерова.

Обработка Архива всегда была очень кропотливым делом. Первоначально регистрация представляла собой присвоение материалам суммарного индекса с краткой их характеристикой. Первый каталог «старого фонда» составил К.Г.Залеман, который наносил шифр на узкоформатные карточки, так называемые «фишки». Это было первой попыткой систематизации Архива и составления справочной картотеки.

До 1918 г. коллекции Азиатского музея подразделялись на пять отделений: I отделение. Книги и собственно библиотека; II отделение. Восточные рукописи, а также китайские, японские и другие ксилографы; III отделение. Рукописные сочинения или статьи на европейских языках, надписи, планы и т.п.; IV отделение. Минцкабинет; V отделение. Древности, талисманы, печати и другие достопримечательности и редкости. Рукописные материалы по востоковедению на европейских языках, которые сейчас хранятся в Архиве востоковедов СПбФ ИВ РАН, входили в третье отделение. В 1919 г. оно стало называться «Восточным архивом» или «Азиатским архивом». С назначением директором Азиатского музея С.Ф. Ольденбурга началась ревизия Архива. К работе были привлечены В.М. Алексеев, В.В. Бартольд, И.Ю. Крачковский. Сам С.Ф. Ольденбург принимал активное участие в работе по разбору материалов и их систематизации. Выполнение большой и трудной задачи по созданию единой системы классификации архивного материала и учетного аппарата сочеталось с трудоемкой работой, связанной с разбором многочисленных новых поступлений: только с 1917 по 1927 гг. пополнение Архива составило 20 000 инвентарных номеров. Упорядочение хранения архивных материалов требовало большого внимания, поскольку под одним номером могли находиться целые собрания и коллекции. В то время в Архиве было выделено 5 фондов: старый фонд (1640-1840 гг.), новый фонд (1840-1930 гг.), фонд особого хранения (1850-1912 гг.), необработанный фонд (1880-1910 гг.), делопроизводительный архив. В1933-1937 гг. Азиатский архив входил в состав Рукописного фонда Института востоковедения, а в 1937 г. он был выделен в отдельное подразделение и получил его нынешнее название - Архив востоковедов.

В 1937 г. к обработке Архива востоковедов приступило 5 специалистов, перешедших из Пушкинского Дома, во главе с Л.Б. Модзалевским. В Архиве было выделено 52 личных фонда и 3 разряда, представлявших собой тематические коллекции. Были заведены книги, фиксировавшие сведения о новых поступлениях и о формировании фондов, составлены описи фондов и разрядов, введены формуляры. Полную обработку Архива востоковедов предполагалось завершить к 1943 г., чему помешала война. Работа была возобновлена в 1956 г., когда был сформирован коллектив из 5 человек специально для работы в Архиве, создан Совет Архива, организован выпуск справочного «Бюллетеня Архива востоковедов» в пяти машинописных экземплярах, начата работа над «Путеводителем по фондам Архива востоковедов».

В настоящее время в Архиве востоковедов имеется более 100 личных фондов, названных по имени фондообразователей. В 1949-1953 гг. личные фонды действительных членов и членов-корреспондентов АН - И.Я. Шмидта, В.В. Бартольда, Ф.И. Щербацкого, В.В. Струве, Б.Я. Владимирцова, А.Н. Самойловича. В.Р. Розена, В.В. Радлова, И.А. Орбели и др. - были переданы в ЛО ААН СССР (СПб ПФА РАН). В Архиве востоковедов остались лишь материалы, непосредственно относящиеся к работе академиков в Институте востоковедения. Среди уникальных материалов Архива востоковедов выделяются 150 словарей: двуязычных, трехязычных, четырехязычных. Некоторые из них составлены вчерне, на карточках, некоторые полностью подготовлены к изданию. В Архиве востоковедов имеются следующие тематические коллекции, называемые разрядами: «Китай», «Маньчжурия», «Монголия и Тибет», «Япония и Корея», «Индия и Индонезия», «Иран и Афганистан», «Турция», «Арабские страны», «Polyglotta» (где собраны тексты, написанные параллельно на нескольких языках, а также материалы для словарей), «Палестина», «Африка», «Бурятия и Калмыкия», «Народы Кавказа и Закавказья», «Народы Сибири», «Тюркские народы», «Финно-угорские народы», «Народы Средней Азии», «Казахи», «Фонды учреждений», «Фонд Российского Палестинского общества», «Фонд Пекинской миссии», «Редакционно-издательский портфель», «Фонд диссертационных работ», «Фотоархив». С начала 1960-х гг. сотрудниками Архива востоковедов были Л.И. Чугуевский, Н.Д. Путинцева, Т.П. Горегляд, К.А. Бойко, Д.Е. Бертельс, А.М. Куликова, Т.А. Патрушева, М.Н. Кулис, О.С. Григорьева, К.В. Дубков, В.С. Федоров, Т.Е. Сиволап.
Публикаций об Архиве востоковедов ИВР РАН более 500. Это, прежде всего, работы А.М. Куликовой, И.И. Иориша, Д.Е. Бертельса, Г.М. Бонгард-Левина, Э.Н. Темкина, М.П. Волковой, Л.В. Дмитриевой, Л.Л. Громковской, А.Н. Кононова, С.А. Козина, И.Ю. Крачковского, И.В. Кульганек, Б.В. Лунина, Л.Н. Меньшикова, Н.Д. Путинцевой, П.Е. Скачкова, Н.Н. Туманович, Л.И. Чугуевского, А.Н. Хохлова, Р.Ш. Шарафутдиновой, Н.П. Шастиной.

Многие архивные материалы все еще ждут своих исследователей.

Л.И.Чугуевский (†), Н.Д.Путинцева, И.В.Кульганек


На сайте СПб ИВР РАН
Всего публикаций6686
Монографий1270
Статей5349


Programming© N.Shchupak; Design© M.Romanov

 Российская академия наук Yandex Money Counter
beacon typebeacon type