Latest news
Most popular
Main menu
News
History
Structure
Personalia
Events
Manuscripts
Publications
IOM Journals
PhD Program
Videos (rus)
Buy books (rus)
Library (rus)
IOM (rus)
What's most interesting for you?

Pyotr Kuzmich
Kozlov

(16.10.1863 — 26.09.1935)
Born 16.10.1863 in the town of Dukhovshchina, Smolensk region to the family of a craftsman.

After the 4-year school P.Kozlov was hired to work in a brewery. His dreams about journeys came true when he happened to meet the famous explorer of Central Asia N.M.Przhevalsky in the Summer of 1882. He took the young man to his house and began to oversee his studies. In 1883 P.K.Kozlov was admitted to the military service and after three months could join Przhevalsky's expedition.

P.K.Kozlov made six journeys to the Central Asia where he explored Mongolia, the Gobi Desert and the Eastern part of the Tibetan highland (Khams). The first three expeditions were under command of N.M.Przhevalsky, M.V.Pevtsov and V.I.Roborovsky respectively.

In Autumn of 1888 his second expedition began. At first it was headed by N.M.Przhevalsky but as he died on the way it was interrupted and continued only in Autumn of 1889 under the command of the general-major M.V.Pevtsov.

The third expedition (1893-1895) was headed by the senior assistant of Przhevalsky - V.I.Roborovsky. Its goal was to explore the region of Nanshan and the Southern-Eastern border of Tibet. But V.Roborovsky got ill and the command was passed to P.K.Kozlov. After the successful completion of the expedition he presented the full report about it titled “The Report of the Assistant of the Head of the Expedition P.K.Kozlov”.

In 1899 P.K.Kozlov made his first independent journey as the head of the Mongol-Tibetan expedition. He maid detailed descriptions of many lakes (particularly Kukunor), the sources of the Mekong and Yalunjiang (a significant affluent of the Yangtze) as well as a number of the highest peaks. Moreover, P.K.Kozlov gave excellent sketches on economics and ethnography of the population of Central Asia and brought a large collection of fauna and flora. The Mongol-Tibetan expedition was described by P.K.Kozlov in two big volumes titled “Mongolia and Khams” and “Khams and the way back”. For this work he was awarded the golden medal of the Russian Geographic Society an honorary member of which he became later.

Kozlov's fifth journey (Mongol-Sichuan expedition) occurred in 1907-1909. It began in Kyakhta and covered Urga (now Ulan-Bator) and the deeper parts of the Central Asia. It resulted in the discovery of the dead city of Khara-Khoto where the explorer found 2000 books in the Tangut language and a great number of artifacts which depicted vividly many sides of culture and common life of the ancient Tangut State Xie-Xia, among them a collection of paper money, cultic statues and more than 300 Buddhist paintings on wood, silk, cloth and paper. The results of this expedition were presented in a big volume titled “Mongolia and Amdo and the dead city of Khara-Khoto”.

Kozlov's sixth and last expedition took part in 1923-1926. In spite of the comparatively small scale (a part of the Northern Mongolia) it produced important results, such as in the Noyn-Ul mountains, where 212 burial sites belonging to the Hunnu period (about 2000 years old) were discovered and which turned out to be one of the greatest archeological discoveries of the 20th century. Various objects which allowed the reconstructiuon of economics and life of the Hunnus (2nd century B.C. - 1st century A.D.) were found in these burials. The most unique among them is a collection of excellent cloths and rugs of the Greek-Baktrian Kingdom.

P.K.Kozlov spent the last years of his life in Strechno village, near to Staraya Russa in the Novgorod region. He died in a sanatorium near to Leningrad on 26, September, 1935.

Publications


IOM's page contains
Publications487
Monographs236
Papers250
b_elanskaya_1994.jpg
b_yusupova_1996.jpg
p_pps_96(33)_grushevoi_1998.jpg
b_pang_co_2005.jpg
Random news: Announcements
At the Department of Far Eastern Studies the monograph by Julia V. Boltach,  Iryon. Memorabilia of the Three Kingdoms (Samguk yusa). Translation from Hanmun, introduction, notes and indexes, will be discussed.
Read more...


Programming© N.Shchupak; Design© M.Romanov

 Российская академия наук Yandex Money Counter
beacon typebeacon type

Главное меню
Новости
История
Структура
Personalia
Научная жизнь
Рукописи
Публикации
Лекторий
Периодика
Архивы
Экскурсии
Продажа книг
Спонсорам
Аспирантура
Библиотека
ИВР в СМИ
IOM (eng)

Петр Кузьмич
Козлов

(16.10.1863 — 26.09.1935)
Родился в г. Духовщине Смоленской губернии в семье мелкого ремесленника.

Двенадцати лет был отдан в четырёхклассную школу, по окончании её поступил на службу в контору пивоваренного завода. Мечты о путешествиях обрели реальность в результате необычайной встречи с Н.М. Пржевальским летом 1882 г., который взял к себе П.К. Козлова и стал руководить его учебными занятиями. В январе 1883 г. П.К. Козлов успешно сдал экзамен за полный курс реального училища. После этого он поступил на военную службу и, прослужив три месяца, был зачислен в экспедицию Н.М. Пржевальского.

П.К. Козлов совершил шесть путешествий в Центральную Азию, где исследовал Монголию, пустыню Гоби и восточную часть Тибетского нагорья (Кам). Первые три путешествия проведены им под начальством Н.М. Пржевальского, М.В. Певцова и В.И. Роборовского, соответственно.

Возвратившись из своего первого путешествия (1883-1885), П.К. Козлов поступил в военное училище, по окончании которого был произведен в офицеры.

Осенью 1888 г. П.К. Козлов отправился вместе с Н.М. Пржевальским во второе путешествие. Однако смерть главы экспедиции была прервана и возобновилась лишь осенью 1889 г. под руководством полковника, а впоследствии генерал-майора М.В. Певцова.

Третья экспедиция (с 1893 по 1895 гг.), в которой участвовал П.К. Козлов, проходила под руководством бывшего старшего помощника Пржевальского - В.И. Роборовского. Задачей её было исследование района горного хребта Наньшаня и северо-восточной оконечности Тибета. На полпути тяжело заболел В.И. Роборовский, и П.К. Козлов принял на себя руководство экспедицией, по успешному завершению которой представил полный отчет об экспедиции, изданный под заглавием «Отчет помощника начальника экспедиции П.К. Козлова».

В 1899 г. П.К. Козлов совершил свое первое самостоятельное путешествие в качестве начальника Монголо-Тибетской экспедиции. П.К. Козлов сделал подробные описания многочисленных озер (в том числе озера Кукунор), истоков рек Меконга и Ялунцзяна (крупного притока р. Янцзы), а также ряда величайших гор. Кроме того, П.К. Козлов дал блестящие очерки экономики и этнографии населения Центральной Азии и вывез большую коллекцию фауны и флоры. Монголо-Тибетская экспедиция описана П.К. Козловым в двух больших томах: «Монголия и Кам» и «Кам и обратный путь». За неё П.К. Козлов был отмечен золотой медалью Русского географического общества, в почетные члены которого он был впоследствии избран.

Пятое путешествие (Монголо-Сычуанская экспедиция) П.К. Козлова состоялось в 1907-1909 гг. и прошло по маршруту из Кяхты на Ургу (Улан-Батор) и далее в глубь Центральной Азии. В ходе него в песках пустыни Гоби был открыт мертвый город Хара-Хото, в котором было обнаружено 2000 книг на тангутском языке и большое количество артефактов, наглядно рисующих многие стороны культуры и быта древнего тангутского государства Си-ся, среди которых выделяется коллекция печатных бумажных денег, а также культовые статуи и более 300 буддийских изображений на дереве, шелке, полотне и бумаге. Итоги экспедиции были изложены в большом томе под заглавием «Монголия и Амдо и мертвый город Хара-Хото».

Шестое и последнее путешествие П.К. Козлова прошло в 1923-1926 гг. Несмотря на сравнительно небольшой охват (часть Северной Монголии), оно принесло важные результаты, так как в горах Ноин-Ула были открыты 212 могильников, относящихся к гуннскому периоду (2000-летней давности), что стало одним из величайших археологических открытий XX в. В этих могильниках были обнаружены многочисленные предметы, позволяющие восстановить особенности экономики и быта гуннов (II в. до н. э. - I в. н. э.), в том числе уникальная коллекция высокохудожественных тканей и ковров времен греко-бактрийского царства.

В 1928 г. П.К. Козлов был избран действительным членом Украинской академии наук.

Последние годы жизни он провёл в деревне Стречно, что под Старой Руссой (в Новгородской области). Умер от склероза сердца в санатории под Ленинградом.

Публикации


На сайте СПб ИВР РАН
Всего публикаций6324
Монографий1248
Статей5010
Случайная новость: Объявления
21 марта 2018 г. в 15.00 состоится очередное заседание Открытого теоретического семинара «Религии Южной Азии», на котором выступит к. ф. н. В. П. Иванов.
Подробнее...


Programming© N.Shchupak; Design© M.Romanov

 Российская академия наук Yandex Money Counter
beacon typebeacon type